Spicy Peanut Chicken Noodles

I got this inspiration today and really, I wanted to try this dish with Soba noodles, but I didn’t have any at home and had no luck finding them at my local grocery store on my way back from work. So I had to settle for rice noodles instead. I think they were a good alternative, if not better. Mind you, I’ve never tried soba noodles, so I can only imagine what they would’ve tasted like. I can’t tell for sure that they wouldn’t have been a better option. Guess I will have to try it.

Next time I pass by the little Asian market near my parent’s house, I will make sure to pay them a little visit and stock up on them… and a few other things, of course! Can’t go to that market without coming out with my hands full of bags. What can I say, I love Asian food!  And tonight’s dish sure was satisfying!

Ingredients
(serves 3-4)

Sauce

  • ¼ cup (75g) all natural peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp tamari soy sauce
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • ½ tsp sambal oelek (or more, if you like it spicier!)
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 broccoli, cut into florets
  • 2 red thai peppers, finely chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 250g – 300g Rice noodles (I used the large variety, but really, you can use any noodle you like. Even soba, if you’re lucky enough to have them on hand!)

Garnish

  • Unsalted peanuts, toasted
  • Red thai peppers, finely chopped
  • Green onions, sliced

Directions

  • Cook noodles per package directions
  • Meanwhile, combine all ingredients for the sauce in a bowl and whisk together thoroughly until well blended.
  • Coat a skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium-high heat. When pan is hot, add chicken, sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook for 5 minutes, then turn each piece to cook the other side. Add onion, stir and cook for 2-3 minutes, until golden, then add broccoli and give it a couple of minutes to cook before adding sauce.
  • Toss in cooked noodles. Stir to combine (add some of the noodle cooking water if necessary) and serve immediately.
  • Garnish with peanuts, green onions and thai peppers, if desired.
2 Comments to “Spicy Peanut Chicken Noodles”

  1. Just thought I would let you know I love your blog – have made a couple of your recipes now, and they both turned out great – just finished making this peanut sauce for an asian noodle dish – delish – thanks for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

